A special meeting of the Foreign Ministers of the member-states of the Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA) took place as part of the 73rd Session of the United Nation General Assembly, reports the official site of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan.

A formal ceremony also took place during the meeting where the Chairmanship of the CICA wastransferred from the People's Republic of China (2014-2018) to the Republic of Tajikistan (2018-2020). Habibollo Mirzoev was appointed the new Executive Director of the Secretariat, whose candidacy was unanimously supported by all 27 CICA member states.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan, Mr.Kairat Abdrakhmanov, expressed his gratitude to the People's Republic of China and the outgoing Executive Director of CICA Gong Jianwei for his support and contribution to the development of the CICA process. He recalled that the Chinese presidency witnesseda new and important stage of the Conference's development aimed at ensuring sustainable security and co-operation in Asia.The Youth and Business Councils of the CICA have been established, the Non-Governmental Forum commencedits activity, having become a new channel for broad discussion and dissemination of the CICA's security concept. The Foreign Minister emphasized the continued growth of the CICA during the Chinese presidency, when its 27th member, the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka (July 20, 2018) joined the organisation.

The Minister drew particular attention to the initiative of President Nursultan Nazarbayev to establish an Organisation for Security and Development in Asia on the basis of the Conference and called for further discussion of this issue at the expert level.

Recall, CICA was initiated on October 5, 1992 by the President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev. CICA is an intergovernmental forum for dialogue, consultation, decision-making and implementation of measures on the basis of consensus on security issues in Asia. To date, CICA members include 27 Asian countries, 8 observer countries and 5 organizations.

"The Qazaq Times"